Baseball: Fort Bend vs Angleton file art

Angleton's Ethan Ebner leads off second base with Fort Bend Hightower shortstop Andre Graves keeping an eye on him during a District 24-5A contest at Angleton. Ebner was voted the defensive player of the year for the district for 2019.

Putting together a 15-1 championship season in District 24-5A, the Angleton Wildcats had a lot of success on the baseball field this season.

Angleton ended its season in the area round of the playoffs, falling to Nederland (4-0, 3-0) to finish 22-7 overall.

With that much success, accolades followed, including the all-district selections chosen by district coaches.

Individual honors went to Ethan Ebner, who was the defensive player of the year. Josh Hyatt was co-pitcher of the year with Manvel’s Eric Benitez. The Angleton coaching staff was voted as the best staff of the year.

The MVP was Foster’s Cade Sitka. The Falcons' Chase Albright was the newcomer of the year. Alvin Shadow Creek’s Ben Greer was voted the offensive player of the year.

First team honors went to Angleton’s Tanner Davis as an outfielder, Ashton Tweedle as a pitcher and Gavin Baird as the shortstop.

Also garnering first-team honors were Foster’s Chance Van Cleave and Reece Burke; Terry’s Colby Alvarez-Mitchell and Colby McDaniel; Manvel’s Parker Carruth, Jackson Sweeney and Myles Simmons; Fort Bend Willowridge’s Daelan Caraway; and Shadow Creek’s Warren Shankle.

On the second team were Angleton’s Caleb Jackson, Zack Medart, Seth Cosme, Thomas Brannon, Noah Crowell and Jonas Kirkpatrick; Foster’s Brandon Naivar and Jacob Flores; Lamar Consolidated’s Colby Lock and Mustafa Hatamleh; Terry’s Dylan Garcia, Isaiah Garcia and Brian Martinez; Fort Bend Hightower’s Lucas Barerra and Daniel Ivbievbiokun; Willowridge’s Jose Jasso and Christian Carr; and Manvel’s Isaiah Walker.

Academic all-district for Angleton were Davis, Baird, Cosme, Ebner, Medart, Tyler Killion, Brannon, Jackson, Brandon Rubio, Crowell, Justus Mayon and Josh De La Rosa.

Academic all-state for the Wildcats were Ebner on the first team; Baird and Medart on the second team and Davis, Cosme, Killion and Brannon as honorable mention.

Joel Luna is sports editor for The Facts. Contact him at 979-237-0160 or at

(0) entries

Sign the guestbook.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.